Accidents with bodily injury in California are some of the most serious offenses on the road. In the state of California, any accident that results in injury to another person will result in two points on your driving record. These points can have serious consequences, including higher insurance premiums and even license suspension.
In California, the point system is based on the severity of the offense. Tickets for common traffic violations or an accident will be counted as one point on your driving record. More serious offenses such as a DUI or hit and run will result in two points on your record. Penalties are harsher for drivers of commercial vehicles, with a three-point penalty for any violation that results in an accident with bodily injury.
The point system is designed to encourage safe driving and to punish those who are careless or reckless on the road. If you accumulate too many points on your driving record, you could face license suspension or revocation. In California, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can suspend your license if you accumulate four points within 12 months, six points within 24 months, or eight points within 36 months.
If you are involved in an accident with bodily injury, you should contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. An attorney can help you understand the legal implications of the accident and can advise you on the best course of action. In some cases, you may be able to reduce the number of points on your record or even have the points removed altogether.
Accidents with bodily injury are serious offenses and can have serious consequences. It is important to understand the point system in California and to take steps to avoid getting too many points on your record. If you are involved in an accident with bodily injury, it is important to seek legal advice as soon as possible.